2019 World Slasher Cup starts Jan. 28

The prestigious and long -running World Slasher Cup 9 -Cock Invitational Derby, which traces its origin in 1963 under the Pintakasi of Champions, starts on Jan. 28 with over 300 entries at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Nine days of world class cockfighting sizzle at the Big Dome on Jan. 28, 29 and 30 (2-cock Eliminations), Jan. 31, Feb. 1 and 2 (3-cock Semis), Feb. 3 and 4 (4-cock Pre-Finals) and Feb. 6 (4-cock Grand Finals).

Cockfight idol Patrick Antonio, the defending champion with 8.5, will shoot for his 8th WSC title.

Pitgames Media CEO Manny Berbano, runner -up (8 points) last year in partnership with Cris Sioson, Rey Canedo and Doc Ayong Lorenzo of Excellence Poultry and Livestock Specialists, will field the famed 5k Sweaters crossed with Yellow-Legged Hatch of DinkFair plus Mel Sims Black Kelso Greys of Bobby Fairchild.

Lorenzo bagged solo runner-up honors in the 2017 edition with team mate Dante Hinlo of Negros Occidental (DVH EDL Excellence entry).

Already in town are foreign participants Marty Bently of Ohio, Erik Rosales, Robert Dominguez and Bruce Brown of California, Butch Cambra of Hawaii, Nathan Jumper of Mississipi, Tim Fitzgerald of Utah, Bobby Fairchild of Kentucky, Brent Douglas of Black Bonanza fame and Ernest Atkins of Tennessee.

Likewise among the early favorites: recent champs Rey Briones, Frank Berin, Escolin Brothers, Gary Tesorero and Magno Lim.

The local contingent is also comprised of Joey Sy, Ed Ochoa, Boy Marzo, Rikki Reyes, Jun Sevilla, Mel “Man Fighter” Lim, James Uy, Roel

Gatchalian, Allan Siyaco, Celso Evangelista, James Yap, Gerald Ampil, Rhemy Medrano, Arman Santos, Peping Ricafort, Crispin Aguas, Rey Morla, Tony Marfori, Virgilio Lacson, Jun Villanueva, Boyet Plaza, Aylwynn Sy, Ricoy Palmares, Efren Canlas, Doc Marvin Rocafort, Celso Salazar, Jet Fernando, Carlos Tumpalan, Boy De Roca, Dong Chung, Honey Yu, Nelson Uy, and Terence Madlambayan.

As well as sabong enthusiasts Gerry Escalona, Art De Castro, Pol Estrellado, Wilard Ty, Ricky Magtuto, Marvin Perez, Eugene Perez, Kenneth Liao, Ruben Tan, Ding Cajulis, Tady Palma, Ramil Capistrano, Mark Celso, Julio Vinluan, Rene Adao, Boody Buenaventura, Boy Montano, Jimmy Junsay, Nestor Vendivil, Noel Jarin, Ruel Ricafort, Arthur Alonzo, Luis Tapia, Jojo Gatlabyan, Edgar Santos, Rey Directo, Nick Crisostomo, Jun Sevilla, Eddie Araneta, Felix Rebol, Boy Gamilla, John Gutierrez, Pros Antonio, Wilvin Sy, Jeffrey Sy, Jess Moradas, Bernie Tacoy, Jun Bacolod, Atty. Astorga, Dante Hinlo, Vic Lacsao, Boboy Delos Santos, Hector Magpantay, and Ms. Osang Dela Cruz.

Those who still want to register their entries may call the WSC derby office at 588-8227 or 911 -2928; or visit the website www.worldslashercup.ph. Audiences may visit the Ticketnet Booth at the Coliseum Concourse beside the Yellow Gate.

Among the sponsors: Emperador and Powertrac. The WSC Cup 2 is scheduled on May 22 -28