5 entries share 2023 World Slasher Cup 1 title 

Five top entries emerged victorious in this year’s World Slasher Cup 1 9-Cock Invitational Derby at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum. 

Neil Figueroa (Cali Dreamers Lagitik), Jonjon Alegre (Jonah), Patrick Antonio (SFVM Sagupaan King Cutter), Justin and Jeremy Berin (Mulawin 1), and Nene Araneta (Thunderbird II) shared the coveted World Slasher Cup title after scoring 8-1 win-loss record at the end of this edition’s prestigious derby. 

The latest World Slasher Cup champions were recognized during the official awarding ceremony at the Novotel Manila Araneta City on February 7. 

Meanwhile, BGC/DS (BGC/DS Antipolo entry) bagged the solo runner-up honor, with 7.5 points. Three entries ended the competition with 7 points each – Bulldog of Antonio Celedio Jr., Sovereign Escort 2 of Albert Dichavez, and Cali Dreamers Philibillies of Danny Lim. 

Ayong Lorenzo’s EDL Excellence and the combined entry of Jeff Hapon and Wilfredo Aga (Onsen Resort) got 6.5 points each, while Fer Meneses and Teddy Tumang, Sheila Adajar, Pros Antonio/William, Felix Sta. Maria, and Jonarie Fortaleza and Robert Santiago, each scored 5.5 points. 

A total of 195 entries participated in this edition’s Olympics of Cockfighting which ran from January 26 to February 1. 

The 2023 World Slasher Cup 1 is made possible by Thunderbird, Emperador, and Petron, with media partners Tempo and Pilipino Mirror.