World Slasher Cup 2: two entries hailed as champs

Thunderbird I

Two entries with 8 -1 (win -loss) records each ruled the 2019 World Slasher Cup 2 Invitational 9 -Cock Derby, witnessed by an overflow crowd early morning yesterday at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Frank Berin of Thunderbird I

With only four points going into the grand finals, Thunderbird 1 of Nene Araneta and Frank Berin (now four-time WSC champion) piled up four more victories to wrest the championship with 8 points.

Also with 8 points are 2019 Rey Canedo and Jun Durano for a tie for the championship.  

Rey Canedo and Jun Durano of RC Warrior JD

In fight No. 49, RC Warrior JD outlasted the RNK entry of first time participant Reynaldo Villanueva, who is also gunning for championship. Villanueva settled for runner-up honors with seven points, together with two -time WSC champ Honey Yu of Pitogo, Quezon (Princess Bernice).

RC Warrior JD

Other top scorers: Caloy Datu/Lawrence Villanueva, Femie Medina/Rhona Bullecer/Marc Cruz, Rep. Marvin Rillo, Alpha Team and Ricky Magtuto/JMW (6.5 points each), Antonio dela Pena, Vince Maranan of Rizal, Carlos Camacho of Guam/ Jorge Goitia of California, Sierra Brothers, Frank Berin/Nene Araneta, Jepoy/Boy de Roca, Mauro Prieto/Rey Briones and Escolin/Eslabon brothers AND cockfight idol Patrick Antonio.

Major sponsors are Thunderbird and Emperador with media partners PitGames Media Inc., TV5’s “All New Tukaan”, ABS-CBN Action + Sports, “Sagupaan,” “Sabong Nation”, “Sabong Pilipinas”, “Bakbakan Na TV”, The Sabong Chronicles, .Journal Group, Pilipino Mirror, Saksi Ngayon and Diaryo Bomba. Awarding ceremonies will be held at Novotel Manila Araneta Center next week the with the presence of reigning Bb. Pilipinas titlists.