World Slasher Cup 2018 winner bared

A sabong idol emerges as solo champ; derby newbies in strong finish

The Pintakasi of Champions, host of the 2018 World Slasher Cup Invitational 9-Cock Derby at the Smart Araneta Coliseum, bared the winner of the prestigious event that held its Grand Finals on February 7.

Close to 300 local and foreign participants joined the competition, sponsored by B-Meg, Thunderbird, Petron, Excellence Poultry & Livestock Specialists, and supported by Warhawk, and media partner PitGames Media, Inc. and the Journal Group.

Cockfight idol Rep. Patrick Antonio emerged victorious with 8.5 points and was declared the solo champion in the wee hours of Thursday morning, after a gruelling 88-fight Grand Finals that began at 1pm on Wednesday.

Equally remarkable is the good showing of first-timers Rey Canedo of Davao, and Cris Sioson on Bataan (in partnership with PitGmes CEO Manny Berbano), who scored eight wins and one loss for a runner-up finish. Excellence endorser Biboy Enriquez (Firebird 2) also scored 8-1 (win-loss) together with Jess Moradas, Henry Teves, Arnold Mendoza, Frank Berin (last year’s solo champ)/Danny Bulldog, and Thunderbird 6 entry.

Team Alcala of Quezon and Rico Abliter tallied 7.5 points whole Ito Ynarez, Vergil Intino, Max Benedicto, Jojo Alcovendaz, Cholo Violago, Vice Marasigan, and Biboy Enriquez (Firebird 2) posted seven wins each.

With the surprise good performance of first-timers, newcomers are expected to try their luck when the WSC 2 returns on May 6 to 12. The same nine-cock format will be adopted in the shorter, seven-day cockfest.


Patrick Antonio (2nd from right) and crew, whose entry emerged as the sole champion of the first edition of the 2018 World Slasher Cup held at the Smart Araneta Coliseum