WSC 2 Champs in Special Awarding Ceremony

The representatives of winning entries Thunderbird 1 (Frank Berin, who was one of the entry owners along with Mr. Nene Araneta) and RC Warrior JD (Rey Canedo, who won with partner Jun Durano) with the Binibining Pilipinas 2019 Queens

The two owners of the two winning entries of the 2019 World Slasher Cup II were feted with a special awarding ceremony in which they symbolically received the silver-plated cup shipped from Hong Kong to mark their victory in the grueling, and the most prestigious cockfighting derby in the world.

The special event was held at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center for the winners: multiple champs Frank Berin and Nene Araneta (Thunderbird 1); and Rey Cañedo  and Jun Durano (Team Excellence’s RC Warriors JD). Both entries finished the derby with an impressive 8 points each at the Grand Finals to force a tie for the title.

To add glitz to the occasion, it was also graced by no other than the recently crowned 2019 Binibining Pilipinas Queens. Present among the WSC Derby Office heads were Miss Universe Philippines 2019 Gazini Ganados, Binibining Pilipinas Grand International 2019 Samantha Lo, Binibining Pilipinas Intercontinental Emma TIglao, and Binibining Pilipinas Globe 2019 Leren Bautista.

At the awarding, Cañedo said, “Sa World Slasher Cup, it’s not easy to win – the competition is very tough. We hoped we would win, pero hindi naming masigurado. Hindi basta-basta ang labanan sa WSC. ‘Pag nanalo ka rito, parang kalaban mo na lahat ng breeders sa buong mundo.”

Berin, for his part, noted of Thunderbird’s win, “Siguro poi to ay swerte. Nagpapasalamat din po ako kay Mr. Araneta na ipagkatiwala po niya ang mga manok sa akin na i-kundisyon. At sa awa po ng Diyos, nakamit po naming ni Mr. Cañedo ang championship.”

RC Warrior JD ousted RNK entry of first-time participant Reynaldo Villanueva, who settled for runner-up honors alongside two time WSC champ Honey Yu. Other top scorers in the recent bouts were Caloy Datu/Lawrence Villanueva; Femie Medina/Rhona Bullecer/Marc Cruz; Marvin Rillo; Alpha Team and Ricky Magtuto/JMW with 6.5 points each; Antonio dela Pena; Vince Maranan from Rizal; Carlos Camacho from Guam/Jorge Goita from California; Sierra Brothers; Jepoy/Boy de Roca; Mauro Prieto/Rey Briones and the Escolin Eslabon brothers; and cockfight idol Patrick Antonio.

Sponsors of the event are: Thunderbird and Emperador. Media sponsors are: PitGames Media, Inc., Balita and Tempo; The Journal Group (People’s Journal and People’s Tonight), Pilipino Mirror, Saksi Ngayon, and Diaryo Bomba.

WSC would also like to acknowledge the support of sabong shows like TV5’s “All New Tukaan”, ABS-CBN Sports+Action, “Sagupaan”, “Sabong Nation”, “Sabong Pilipinas”, “Sabong TV”, “Bakbakan Na TV”, and others.

The Olympics of Sabong returns in January next year for a bigger and tougher event only at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum. Hennies are prohibited in WSC. For information, please contact the WSC Derby Office at 5884000 local 8227 and look for Ms. Gloria Avena.

Thunderbird 1 entry representatives (front and middle L-R) Toto Terante (handler) and Eric Elbabuena (handler); and back (L-R) Felix Catarining (gaffer) , Justine Berin, Frank Berin and Jeremy Berin; with the 2019 Binibining Pilipinas Queens
Representatives of RC Warrior JD Mr. Rey Canedo, partner Jun Durano, and their crew